Saturday, 21 March 2009

The Inge Morath Award 2009

The Magnum Foundation and the Inge Morath Foundation announce the sixth annual Inge Morath Award. The annual prize of $5,000 is awarded to a female documentary photographer under the age of 30, to support the completion of a long-term project. One award winner and up to two finalists are selected by a jury composed of Magnum photographers.

Past winners of the Inge Morath Award include: Kathryn Cook (US, '08) for Memory Denied: Turkey and the Armenian Genocide; Olivia Arthur (UK, '07) for The Middle Distance; Jessica Dimmock (US, '06) for The Ninth Floor; Mimi Chakarova (US, '06) for Sex Trafficking in Eastern Europe; Claudia Guadarrama (MX, '05) for Before the Limit; and Ami Vitale (US, '02), for Kashmir.

Deadline: April 30th, 2009.

More on the website

The Inge Morath Award 2008 :
Award Winner:
- Kathryn Cook, US, for Memory Denied: Turkey and the Armenian Genocide
Award Finalist(s):
- Leonie Purchas, UK, for In the Shadow of Things
- Alice Smeets, Belgium, for Haiti

The Inge Morath Award 2007 :
Award Winner:
- Olivia Arthur, England, for The Middle Distance
Award Finalist(s):
- Rena Effendi, Azerbaijan, for Pipe Dreams: A Chronicle of Lives Along the Pipeline in Azerbaijan, Georgia and Turkey
- Newsha Tavakolian, Iran, for Iran: Girl Power!

Inge Morath was an Austrian-born photographer who was associated with Magnum Photos for nearly fifty years. After her death in 2002, the Inge Morath Foundation was established to manage Morath's estate and facilitate the study and appreciation of her contribution to photography.

No comments: