Saturday, 21 March 2009

Infinity Awards 2009

2009 Recipients
Lifetime Achievement
 : Annie Leibovitz
Cornell Capa Award
 : Letizia Battaglia
Icp Trustees Award
 : Gayle G. Greenhill
Young Photographer
 : Lieko Shiga
 : Aveek Sen
Publication : Desert Cities - Aglaia Konrad
Art : 
Rinko Kawauchi
 : Geert Van Kesteren
 - Baghdad Calling
 : Tim Walker

The awards ceremony takes place Tuesday, May 12

More information on the website

Lifetime Achievement Award : Malick Sidibé (2008), William Klein (2007);
ICP Trustees Award : Diane Keaton (2008), Karl Lagerfeld (2007), Getty Images (2006);
Young Photographer : Mikhael Subotzky (2008), Ryan McGinley (2007), Ahmet Polat (2006), Tomás Munita (2005);
Writing : Bill Jay (2008), David Levi Strauss (2007), Geoff Dyer (2006), Vince Aletti (2005);
Publication : An American Index of the Hidden and Unfamiliar, Taryn Simon (2008), Sommes-Nous? by Tendance Floue (2007), Things As They Are: Photojournalism in Context Since 1955, by Mary Panzer and Christian Caujolle, World Press Photo (2006), Lodz Ghetto Album: Photographs by Henryk Ross (2005);
Art : Edward Burtynsky (2008), Tracey Moffatt (2007), Thomas Ruff (2006), Loretta Lux (2005);
Photojournalism : Anthony Suau (2008), Christopher Morris - My America (2007), Yuri Kozyrev (2006) The New Yorker (2005);
Applied/Fashion/Advertising Photography : Craig McDean (2008), GAP (2007);

Applied Photography: Steven Meisel (2006), Deborah Turbeville (2005);
Cornell Capa Infinity Award: Don McCullin (2006), Susan Meiselas (2005);
Getty Images Lifetime Achievement Award: Lee Friedlander (2006), Bruce Weber (2005).

ICP's Infinity Awards were inaugurated in 1984 to bring public attention to outstanding achievements in photography by honoring individuals with distinguished careers in the field and by identifying future luminaries.

The Infinity Awards ceremony is ICP's primary fund-raising benefit, and the revenues generated assist the full range of the Center's programs, including exhibitions, collections, community outreach, and the School at ICP.

No comments: