Friday, 8 May 2009

Pulitzer Prize Feature Photography

Pulitzer Prize Feature Photography : 1968 - present

.For a distinguished example of feature photography in black and white or color, which may consist of a photograph or photographs, a sequence or an album, in print or online or both, Ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Journalism entries must be submitted on or before February 1 to cover work in the previous calendar year.
Entries for journalism awards may be made by any individual based on material coming from a text-based United States newspaper or news site that publishes at least weekly during the calendar year and that adheres to the highest journalistic principles. In the two photo categories, the entries must be still photographs that have appeared online or in print.

Winners   Photography (1942-1967), Spot News Photography (1968-1999), Breaking News Photography (2000-present) and Feature Photography (1968-present) :

2011 : Barbara Davidson of the Los Angeles Times. For her intimate story of innocent victims trapped in the city’s crossfire of deadly gang violence.

2010 : Craig F. Walker of The Denver Post for his intimate portrait of a teenager who joins the Army at the height of insurgent violence in Iraq, poignantly searching for meaning and manhood.

2009 : Damon Winter of The New York Times for his memorable array of pictures deftly capturing multiple facets of Barack Obama’s presidential campaign.

2008 : Preston Gannaway of the Concord (N.H.) Monitor for her intimate chronicle of a family coping with a parent's terminal illness

2007 : Renée C. Byer : of The Sacramento Bee for her intimate portrayal of a single mother and her young son as he loses his battle with cancer.

2006 : Todd Heisler of Rocky Mountain News, Denver, Colorado, for his haunting, behind-the-scenes look at funerals for Colorado Marines who return from Iraq in caskets.

2005 : Deanne Fitzmaurice of San Francisco Chronicle for her sensitive photo essay on an Oakland hospital's effort to mend an Iraqi boy nearly killed by an explosion.

2004 : Carolyn Cole of Los Angeles Times for her cohesive, behind-the-scenes look at the effects of civil war in Liberia, with special attention to innocent citizens caught in the conflict.

2003 : Don Bartletti of Los Angeles Times for his memorable portrayal of how undocumented Central American youths, often facing deadly danger, travel north to the United States.

2002 : The New York Times Staff for its photographs chronicling the pain and the perseverance of people enduring protracted conflict in Afghanistan and Pakistan.

2001 : Matt Rainey of The Star-Ledger, Newark, N.J., for his emotional photographs that illustrate the care and recovery of two students critically burned in a dormitory fire at Seton Hall University.

2000 :  Carol Guzy, Michael Williamson and Lucian Perkins of The Washington Post for their intimate and poignant images depicting the plight of the Kosovo refugees.

No comments: